Charter Members

Charter Members (Left to Right) Betty McCray, Sarah Baker, Sallie W. Richardson (Charter Chapter President), Shirley Frasier and Sarah C. Stevens


Hinesville Alumnae Chapter, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated was chartered on May 24, 1987, at Midway Congregational Church, in Midway, Georgia.  Dr. Louise A. Rice, our 23rd National President and Past Southern Regional Director officiated.  There were 12 Charter members, and we honor them for their vision and insight.  These visionary Sorors are:
Soror Sarah Baker     Soror Vicki Brown     Soror Shirley Frasier
Soror Annie Givens     Soror Consibrina Jackson     Soror Donna Jones
Soror Gloria Mitchell     Soror Betty McCray     Soror Annie Stewart    
Soror Sarah Stevens     Soror Denise Cobb   Soror Sallie Richardson, Charter President
During the past twenty-plus years, the Hinesville Alumnae Chapter has focused on improving the quality of life within our community by awarding scholarships, participating in various community events dedicated to improving the physical and mental health of community members and engaging in humanitarian projects that are the bedrock of our commitment and focus. 
There have been significant accomplishments for the Hinesville Alumnae Chapter under the strong leaderships of each of our past presidents: 
Sallie W. Richardson – Charter President 1987-1989
Yvonne L. Woods 1989-1992
Sarah C. Stevens 1992-1996
Sarah P. Baker 1996-2000
Virie Walton 2000-2004
Deloris P. Gaulden 2004 -2006
Rose S. Mullice 2006 -2010
Yovancha Lewis-Brown 2010 - 2012
Mary E. Brock 2012-2014
 Current President, Petula Y. Gomillion.

May 24, 2017, the Hinesville Alumnae will celebrate our 30th year of public service in the Hinesville, Ludowici, Midway, Richmond Hill, Pembroke and Jesup communities.  Although we are only a small segment of a glorious sisterhood,  Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. Hinesville Alumnae Chapter will remain a public service organization committed to community service!

Delta Dears

 For more information, visit our national website at 

For more information, visit the Southern Region's website at